What Are Offenses Against The Person?
In the State of Hawaii, offenses against the person are charged under Hawaii Revised Statutes (HRS) Section 707.
First and second-degree murder (or their attempts) are the most serious offenses under Hawaii law and are punishable with life imprisonment. Other crimes are classified as felonies or misdemeanors. The type of classification will determine the authorized sentence.
If found guilty of a felony, the Hawaii paroling authority will determine the minimum amount of time served and eligibility for parole. This will be determined at a separate hearing after trial. There are three classes of felonies:
- Class A felonies are punishable with up to 20 years imprisonment.
- Class B felonies are punishable with up to 10 years imprisonment
- Class C felonies are punishable with up to 5 years imprisonment.
If found guilty of a misdemeanor, the judge will determine the sentence. There are two types of misdemeanors:
- Misdemeanors are punishable with up to one year imprisonment and fine of $2,000
- Petty misdemeanors are punishable with up to 30 days imprisonment and a fine of $1,000